Read Josephine Baker's Last Dance by Sherry Jones Online

Josephine Baker's Last Dance

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Bakeractress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated ...

Title : Josephine Baker's Last Dance
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1501102443
Format Type :
Number of Pages : 372 pages
Genres :

Josephine Baker's Last Dance Reviews

  • Jamckean

    I had never heard of Josephine Baker before reading this book, but I now understand that she was truly a force to be reckon with. The author takes readers on an incredible journey, following Josephine’s life from poverty to stardom, from working as a housekeeper in Missouri to performing as a showgirl in Paris. Not satisfied with just the limelight, Baker also became heavily involved in the WWII French Resistance and the Civil Rights movement. A fascinating story about a remarkable woman that I ...more

  • Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads)

    I must say I didn't know very much about Josephine Baker.  It wasn't until I read the short children's picture book biography in the Little People, Big Dreams series to my daughter that I learned she wasn't just an entertainer but a woman who fought for Civil Rights equality and joined the French Resistance to destroy Hitler during World War II.

    The short children's biography was so brief and yet I was fascinated!  When I found Josephine Baker's Last Dance on NetGalley earlier this year, I absolu
    ...more

  • Cosima demaglie

    . Although a bit wordy at times, the author creates good connection between her reader and her characters so that they can feel the emotions and struggle with throughout the book. I recommend this book.

  • Deb

    I won this book on a goodreads giveaway. I did not know much about Jpsepjine Baker before this book arrived, but I learned she led a fascinating, if not interesting, scary incredible life. She was a pioneer, independent, incredible woman, who did things her own way, right or wrong.

    Without her persistant spirit, this world may have been quite different. One person can make a difference.

  • Tammy

    Josephine Baker's Last Dance was an entertaining and captivating read! Josephine Baker withstood so many obstacles in her life and those obstacles shaped her. Racism, segregation, poverty and sexual abuse. The author brought Josephine to life, showing us the real woman behind the public persona. I thoroughly enjoyed this one!

  • Samantha

    I love Sherry Jones and the variety to be found in her books, so I was very excited to read her newest offering, Josephine Baker's Last Dance.

    From the very beginning I was held entranced by this incredible story and the life behind it. The first few chapters demonstrated the wildness of youth and a strength unknown to many. Josephine's

    life was truly fascinating, and it was as if I was along for the ride so vivid were the sights and sounds I was reading about. It was a fabulous journey alongside
    ...more

  • Rita

    Josephine Baker is a name we all know but what do we really know of the woman and her life? If you can say Paris and banana skirt, singer and dancer, you might know more than the average Joe. What about French Resistance fighter, civil rights activist, and mother? Sherry Jones writes an illuminating biographical novel of a complex woman with many facets. Jones’ writing gives an intimate look at Josephine Baker’s extraordinary life, as a phenomenally successful woman at a time where prejudice aga ...more

  • Stephen

    This will be one of my favorite books of the year.

    It is a touching, engrossing and enlightening tale based on the life of legendary chanteuse and dancer Josephine Baker.

    It is told in lush prose with such expressive power you feel as if you're floating through the story absorbing all the rich detail. The sense of time and place is so fine it's as if you are there.

    From her childhood of poverty and servitude in St. Louis, Missouri to her start at the Booker T. Washington Theater, her triumph of Par
    ...more