Read The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths Online

The Stranger Diaries

From the author of the beloved Ruth Galloway series, a modern gothic mystery for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House.Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she teaches a course on it every year. But when one of Clares colleagues and closest friends is found dead, with a line from R. M. Holl...

Title : The Stranger Diaries
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type :
Number of Pages : 352 pages
Genres :

The Stranger Diaries Reviews

  • Holly  B

    An absorbing and unsettling contemporary thriller that mirrors a gothic tale~

    Some elements I loved~

    1. There is a gothic Victorian book placed inside the main story. ooh...book inside a book

    .

    2. Several points of view.

    3. The mixture of modern and old school.

    4. Police procedural mixed with the creepiness of the setting.

    5. A quirky female detective with a sharp eye for inconsistencies. (She was my fave)

    6. The setting of a "haunted" school.

    If your craving something a little different from you
    ...more

  • Paromjit

    Elly Griffiths writes the perfect October read with this contemporary take on the Victorian Gothic novel set on the Sussex coast. Attractive Clare Cassidy is a divorced English teacher with a 15 year old daughter, Georgia, teaching at local comprehensive school, Talgarth High, where there is a building that Roland Montgomery Holland, a reclusive Victorian writer lived, a man famous for a short story titled The Stranger. Clare is writing a biography of RM Holland and is interested in the death of ...more

  • Blair

    Clare teaches English – key stage 3 in term time, adult creative writing courses over the holidays – and specialises in the work of R.M. Holland, a 19th-century writer of ghost stories whose personal life was as lurid as his fiction. At the beginning of the book, Clare receives a phone call with the awful news that her friend and colleague Ella has been murdered. She's later told a handwritten note was found next to Ella's body: a phrase from The Tempest, 'hell is empty'. The quote also happens ...more

  • Sherrie

    Equally as good as Elly Griffiths series of books. As always, I had no idea who the murderer was. It has kept me riveted from the start

  • Wendi Lee

    This was such a fun, absorbing Gothic thriller!

    Clare Cassidy is an English teacher obsessed with a famous gothic short story, "The Stranger." She's trying to write a book about the author's life, and even teaches at the school where he once lived. But her life quickly begins to parallel the events in "The Stranger" with a shocking murder, and DS Harbinder Kaur is pulled into her world. Harbinder has her own feelings about the case and the school, as she was a student there years before. Clare's
    ...more

  • Ophelia Sings

    'Just like in the books, when Poirot suddenly "knows" who the murderer is, but won't tell anyone because there are a hundred pages still to go.'

    So states a character less than half way through The Stranger Diaries. The irony being that the reader has already worked out who the murderer is, and there's over half the book to go.

    The blurb promises that Elly Griffiths' new novel will be a darkly gothic affair, but instead we're served up a reasonably chilling but fairly standard killer thriller wi
    ...more

  • NZLisaM

    The perfect blend of gothic horror, psychological suspense, and police procedural!



    ‘"If you’ll permit me,” said the Stranger, “I’d like to tell you a story.”’

    As much as I love spooky old houses with a dark history, and possible ghosts sightings, a thought-to-be haunted house turned into a secondary school had me even more excited. The Old Building of Talgarth High, was once home to Victorian Horror writer R.M. Holland, best remembered for his horror-themed, scary short story, The Stranger. The t
    ...more

  • Susan

    Although I was interested in the description of this novel, I was, initially, a little wary. I had tried Elly Griffiths popular Ruth Galloway series, and stalled with it. However, I am glad that I gave this a try, as I absolutely loved it and it has made me determined to go back and give Ruth Galloway another try.

    This is a clever, literary mystery, with an excellent cast of characters. Clare Cassidy is a divorced English teacher, living with teenage daughter, Georgie and working at Talgarth High
    ...more